1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cracking Sports Sedan Title Expected Tomorrow Night At Alexandra

Discussion in 'Other Prodie Stuff' started by SpeedwayBear, Mar 13, 2015.

This thread is being watched by 1 user.
  1. SpeedwayBear

    SpeedwayBear Platinum Member

    Mar 15, 2003
    Likes Received:
    Tomorrow night at Alexandra Speedway nominations have set up what should be a cracking race in the Sports Sedans with a number of drivers in form right now & ready to take on defending champion Matt Nelson.
    Nelson who has been driving Modified Sedans & Street Stocks much of this season steps back into Sports Sedans to do battle with a tough field.

    Damien Miller & his younger brother Brendan are extremely tough to beat, with Brendan winning four out of five rounds (including the last three rounds) in the state Sports Sedan series he looks most likely the challenger.
    Rahmon Rivero has had placings in Sports Sedans on occasions this season and a recent win in Unlimited Sedans & has proven he can mix it at the top end of the field whilst Rhys Collins has had the most wins this season up in the North East & leads the state Sports Sedans aggregate on the back of plenty of strong results at Wangaratta, Mount Beauty, Leeton & Wahgunyah.

    Last year’s Victoria # 3 driver Ben Moon, Luke Fallon the ‘100 Lap King’ & Tim McPherson who took his first Sports Sedan final win in February at Wangaratta are all likely to be right up amongst the front runners come time to start the feature race & a number of drivers will be there bouts with opportunity if things go their way.

    Nominations are:
    #1 Matt Nelson – Alexandra S.C

    #2 Damien Miller – Alexandra S.C

    #4 James Powell – Wangaratta S.C

    #5 Nathan Shortis – Wangaratta S.C

    #6 Brendan Miller – Alexandra S.C

    #7 Rahmon Rivero – Heartland S.C

    #10 Martin Heiner – Mount Beauty S.C

    #11 Jamie Paull – Rosedale S.C

    #16 Alex Cheney – Wangaratta S.C

    #18 Daniel Unternahrer – Alexandra S.C

    #27 Rhys Collins – Wangaratta S.C

    #29 Sam Williams – Alexandra S.C

    #39 Peter Eastham – Alexandra S.C

    #42 Matt Ridd – Alexandra S.C

    #44 Alan Kruger – Alexandra S.C

    #45 Ben Moon – Alexandra S.C

    #46 Troy Frost – Wangaratta S.C

    #47 Greg Parks – Alexandra S.C

    #48 Russell Smith – Alexandra S.C

    #55 Mark Pollard – Mount Beauty S.C

    #56 Tony Bellman – Alexandra S.C

    #64 Dale Smith – Alexandra S.C

    #69 Tom Barnard – Wangaratta S.C

    #71 Sharon Finning – Heartland S.C

    #72 Josh Brown – Heartland S.C

    #76 Karl Mathie – Heartland S.C

    #77 Luke Fallon – Alexandra S.C

    #85 Aaron Marshall – GVAC

    #89 Andrew Jordan – Alexandra S.C

    #94 Matt Chiminello – Alexandra S.C

    #97 Tim McPherson – Alexandra S.C

    Rhys ‘Rhyso’ Collins
    20 year old farm orchard manager from Stanley
    Dating Jasmine Cappellari
    Drives the # 27 Wangaratta VL Commodore with a Greg Collins built engine
    Supported by:
    Phoenix Radiators Wangaratta bearings & industrial supplies, Collins Apples
    Biggest win – the 2012 $1000 to win dash for cash at Mount Beauty
    Respected competitor: Nathan Shortis can run side by side with

    Alan ‘Krugz’ Kruger
    48 year old from Bayswater
    Drives the # 44 Alexandra Commodore with a self built engine
    Supported by:
    Baywood Wreckers, Melbourne Cheapest Cars, Sign & Badge Centre
    Biggest win so far was a heat race at Mount Beauty
    Respected competitor: the big fella Damian Miller, knows how to win

    Mark ‘Polly’ Pollard
    24 year old handyman from Mount Beauty
    Partner: Judith Pollard
    Drives # 55 Wanagratta Torana with a Greg Collins built engine
    Supported by:
    Mount Beauty Service Centre, Percys Iphone Repairs, Last Stop Servo, Melbourn Made Ink, <ount Beauty Property Sales, Kiewa Country Cottages, Yackandandah Hotel, My-Po Restoration
    Best result: Victorian title ninth place in 13/14 season
    Most respected speedway people: Greg & Katherine Collins whose help has got Polly to where he is right now along with Rick Cappellari

    Rahmon ‘Rooster’ Rivero
    39 year old mechanic from Kyabram
    Partner: Karen Rivero
    Drives # 47 Heartland Commodore with a Mongrel Motors built engine
    Supported by:
    Tint a Car Shepparton, Mongrel Motors Shepparton, Roadworthy Centre Shepparton, GV Signmakers, Maxxis Tyres, Vern & Jackie Parker dvds
    Win: recent winner at Heartland Raceway in the feature, other than that just enjoys racing

    Jamie ‘2ft’ Paull
    31 year old vehicle graphics – signwriter from Woori Yallock
    Parter: Fahy Paull
    Drives # 11 Rosedale VZCcommodore with a Phillip Paul built engine
    Supported by:
    Ripper Sticker, Ripper Plastering, Simmos Fibreglass, Flash Heating & Cooling
    Best result: Marsh Modified Sedans Victorian champion 07/08 & 2 x club champion same season and the one prior

    Tom ‘Tommy’ Barnard
    24 year old 4 x 4 specialist mechanic from Wangaratta
    Partner: Zoe Barnard
    Drives: # 69 Wangaratta VR Commodore with an engine built by Combat Kustoms
    Supported by:
    Combat Kustoms, Patton Automotive, Wangaratta Radiators, North Eastern Bearings, Bright United Mens Shed inc, Stick it up Stickers
    Memorable results: 3rd in a Darren Levy series round at Wangaratta
    Most respected: Trevor Mills, likes the way he goes about his racing business with 100% commitment or he is not in it

    Martin ‘Mort’ Heiner
    22 year old mechanic from Wangaratta
    Partner: Alyce Iaria
    Drives # 10 Mount Beauty commodore engine built by Heiner Race Engines
    Supported by:
    J & L Perri Automotive
    Best results so far: winning two race meetings back to back in 13/14
    Most respected: Trevor Mills because he watches over how i race and offers advice and tips & they are always something new I learn

    Joshua ‘Brown Dawg’ Brown
    28 year old metal fabricator from Bendigo
    Partner: Kirsty Boucher
    Drives # 72 Heartland VK Commodore with a self built engine
    Supported by:
    Money3, Subway Kyabram, Libba’s Mechanical
    Memorable win: winning the final at Drouin in January 2015
    Respected competitors: Damien & Brendan Miller quick & consistent

    Written By
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Victorian Speedway Council

Share This Page