1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. Established & Set To Rumble

Discussion in 'Late Models' started by SpeedwayBear, Aug 19, 2014.

This thread is being watched by 1 user.
  1. SpeedwayBear

    SpeedwayBear Platinum Member

    Mar 15, 2003
    Likes Received:
    Throughout the last speedway season, Victorian based Late Model Sedan competitors were working hard behind the scenes to establish the Late Model Racing Victoria Association and now, with great excitement, Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. can announce that the first ever season race calendar can be released for the inaugural Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. 2014-2015 season.

    Business people, active competitors and interested parties all began meeting some months ago and elected current competitor and Eildon businessman Rod Edwards as the inaugural President, the Vice President role was filled by another competitor with a strong business acumen in Healesville’s Justin Pearson. The paperwork was lodged to formally begin the Association and Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. was established.

    Work then began on securing race dates, including the Victorian title, at suitable Late Model venues. The Victorian title had previously been well organised and ran by the South Australian Late Model Association (SALMA) which all existing Victorian Late Model drivers were members of in past seasons.

    The bond between SALMA & the newly formed LMRV Inc. continues with the two Associations joining forces to create a four round series with two events hosted in each State that will be a part of a new and exciting State Shootout Series.

    Murray Bridge, Redline, Borderline & Premier will be the four venues involved in the State Shootout series with the final round culminating at Warrnambool on the 8th March 2015, allowing thousands of fans to see the future of V8 Sedan racing ‘Rock the House’.

    Rod Edwards commented on the relationship with SALMA. “We have had, & continue to receive, great support by the Executive Committee of SALMA. We are both working with each other to further the growth of our class across both States & we have received wonderful advice to help us complete what was required in order for us to begin Victoria’s own Association.”

    Edwards went on to say. “We thank SALMA for the work they have put into establishing relationships with key stakeholders in our State already, and we look forward to building on those relationships to become the premier sedan class in the State of Victoria.”

    New drivers who have been attracted to the big V8, left hand drive division include long time Super Sedan driver Wayne Belk, who some might remember promoted the Australia V New Zealand Trans Tasman Challenge a couple of seasons back, he may share the driving with his son Shane, which will further increase the growing ranks of the ‘Young Guns’ in Victoria. Fiona Verhoeven from Warrnambool, an established Modified Sedan racer who promotes herself well in the media, is a welcome addition to the class as she will be Victoria’s first female driver! Brendan Hucker & Michael Hetherington, also from the ranks of Modified Sedans, join in on the action while Portland’s Zak Calderwood is in the midst of putting his car together and he joins the division from Production Sedans.

    These new drivers to the Late Model division will join Eildon’s Brock & Chevy Edwards, Pakenham’s Gary Bryans, Barmah’s Graham Forte, Bacchus Marsh’s Danny Amato, Healesville’s Justin Pearson and Bannockburn’s Dan Timberlake; who have all previously raced under SALMA in the last couple of seasons.

    The blue ribbon event for the calendar is without doubt the Victorian Title, which will be held on the Saturday of the Australia Day Long Weekend at the massive 670 metre long Wahgunyah Speedway which is located on the NSW-VIC border at Corowa/Rutherglen. Interstate drivers have already expressed keen interest in competing in this blue ribbon event. Further information about the exciting sponsorship partnerships that are currently being made will be announced shortly so watch this space!

    The Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. racing season kicks off in November at Horsham & during the season it also includes visits to Swan Hill, Wangaratta, Rushworth as well as a few trips over to South Australia.

    November 8th - Blue Ribbon Raceway, Horsham (LMRV Points)
    November 21st - Tolmer Speedway, Bordertown (SALMA)
    November 22nd - Round 1 State Shootout Series - Murray Bridge Speedway (LMRV Points)
    November 29th - Round 2 State Shootout Series - Redline Raceway, Ballarat (LMRV Points)
    January 1st to 3rd - Australian Title - Kingaroy Speedway, Qld
    January 24th - Victorian Title - Wahgunyah Speedway, Wahgunyah (Double LMRV Points)
    February 14th - Sonic Speedway, Swan Hill (LMRV Points)
    February 21st - Wangaratta Speedway, Wangaratta (LMRV Points)
    March 7th - Round 3 State Shootout Series - Borderline Speedway, Mt Gambier (LMRV Points)
    March 8th - Round 4 State Shootout Series - Premier Speedway, Warrnambool (LMRV Points)
    March 28th - Rushworth Speedway, Rushworth (LMRV Points)
    April 3 to 5th - Easter $5k to Win - Timmis Speedway, Mildura (SALMA)
    April 11th – Waikerie Speedway – S.A State Title (SALMA)

    The Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. website is currently being built; fans and supporters can follow along at Crazy Domains | latemodelracingvictoria.com.au shortly. An announcement will be made once the website becomes live so keep an eye out for that! The Association already has a Facebook page where you can stay updated with the latest news; search Late Model Racing Victoria Inc.

    Any persons interested in finding out more or getting involved with Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. can contact either Rod Edwards on 0427 837 385 or Justin Pearson on 0408 356 729. The Secretary, Lisa Edwards, can also be contacted on 0427 007 907 in regards to any administration or paperwork.

    Late Model Racing Victoria Inc. is proudly supported by
    Northeast Pressure Washing
    Kevin Carey - K C Pty Ltd
    Australian Racing Products
    Belkblast Pty Ltd
    Forte Engineering
    HDD - Healesville Directional Drilling
    Horne Enterprises Pty Ltd
    Lake Eildon Houseboat Sales

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    for Late Model Racing Victoria Inc.
    wilson17 likes this.

Share This Page