1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lunt Wins Victorian Short Circuit Championship At Alexandra Speedway

Discussion in 'ASCF Sedans' started by SpeedwayBear, Jun 10, 2015.

This thread is being watched by 1 user.
  1. SpeedwayBear

    SpeedwayBear Platinum Member

    Mar 15, 2003
    Likes Received:
    The Alexandra Speedway Club once again held the annual Victorian Short Circuit Championship to close the Junior 1200 Sedan season, with more than twenty five keen youngsters determined to put in their best possible results whilst a handful were determined that they could come away as the winner, this is exactly what Jackson Lunt from the Alexandra & District Speedway Club was able to achieve.

    Twelve heat races were held to determine starting positions for the main race with six different drivers winning heat races & only one driver Jackson Lunt, winning all four heats they competed in.

    Corey Lincoln won three heats including the first to get the racing under way whilst Adrian Lawrence & Lunt finished as winners In the first round.

    Lincoln started off round two with his second victory with Ricky Cornwall & Lunt completing the winners in the second round.

    Jack Van Breman who is stepping into Wingless Sprint racing next season due to his Junior age limit reached won the first heat of round three over Kye Walters by .750 of a second, the closest race so far. Lunt & Lincoln rounded out the third round winners.

    On day two Tyler Barton won the first heat in the final round, Cornwall won his second heat in the closest of the weekend by .118 of a second with Walters again the un-lucky runner up & Lunt the final heat with the fastest six lap time of the weekend of 3 minutes 43.128 seconds.

    This season the speedway club elected to hold a longer length B Main race to allow a couple of competitors to qualify for the main final instead of a fifth round of heats, the winner of the B Main was Jack Ramsdale by a massive sixteen seconds from Zoe Young, Tim Gorski & Jesse Dignan.

    Lining up in the championship race from first to last on the grid were Jackson Lunt, Lincoln, Lawrence, Walters, Donald Young, Van Breman, Cornwall, Courtney Meakins, Seth Bent, Todd Atkins, Jamie Burton, Wayne Furmston, Barton, Colby Lunt, Ramsdale, Zoe Young & Tim Gorski.

    After a number of re-starts with cars coming un-stuck trying to get away to a good start including a roll over that had the field sitting for a number of minutes whilst crash crew assisted to upright the stricken AJ Lawrence car, the green flag set the field on their way finally after the fifth attempt with Jackson Lunt leading Lincoln & Lawrence on lap one, Walters moved past Lawrence on the second lap.

    Van Breman in his last race as Junior moved into the top three on lap five before Cornwall took the position from him on lap six as Walters & Donald Young followed through into the top five.

    Lunt was still leading on lap seven and Cornwall moved into second with Young then Furmston whilst Lincoln dropped back to fifth place. With time a concern for the following 100 Lap Derby, the stewards elected to call the race early at the eleven lap mark with Young moving into second when Cornwall came un-stuck on lap eleven.

    Jackson Lunt won from Young by 2.918 seconds, Lincoln, Furmston, Burton, Colby Lunt, Meakins, Bent, Ramsdale, Barton, Tim Gorski & Zoe Young the rest of the official finishers.

    Lunt was wrapt to win the Victorian Short Circuit Championship for the first time. “Thank you to everybody who helps out, my family, team GYB & our supporters, Congratulations to the others for their results. This is a big win, I’m pretty happy with this result.”

    The parents committee at Alexandra Speedway would like to thank a number of sponsors who have contributed to the success of the event including:

    Two Bays Communications
    NAB Frankston Business Banking Centre
    Lightning Products
    Pedder’s Frankston
    Armour All
    Autobarn Frankston
    Totally Speedway
    DMT Sports Media
    Inaction Photos
    Rumbles Indoor Play Centre

    The weekend also included fund raising as the Alexandra & District Speedway Club continued to raise funds to send around sixteen racers to Tasmania in January to compete in the Australia title. So far efforts are on track with a few more fund raising events to occur including at the 3 Hour Enduro in August.

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Alexandra & District Speedway Club Junior Sedans

Share This Page