1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nicola, Whittle & Moon Winners At Wahgunyah

Discussion in 'Around the Tracks' started by SpeedwayBear, May 25, 2015.

This thread is being watched by 1 user.
  1. SpeedwayBear

    SpeedwayBear Platinum Member

    Mar 15, 2003
    Likes Received:
    Speedway racers from the North East & from around Victoria enjoyed a fantastic night of racing at Wahgunyah Speedway on May the 23rd when the popular Super Sedan division shared top billing with local hero’s competing in Standard Saloons & Sports Sedans & it was Peter Nicola who took a third win in succession in the QA Kitchens ‘Magic on the Murray’ for Super Sedans that stole the show.

    Other winners included a back to back victory by defending Howie Memorial winner Scott Whittle who returned from Geelong to defend last years event win & Ben Moon from Melbourne’s Eastern Suburbs who won the Hooks Automotive ‘Sports Sedan Slam’, Jack Milthorpe in Junior Sedans, Trevor Mills in Goulburn Ovens Sedans & Alyce Iaria in Ladies Sedans.

    The extremely powerful Super Sedans qualified for the feature event later in the night by competing in three heat races each. Mick Nicola Jnr started the night strong defeating his uncle Peter in the first heat of the night whilst one of two drivers competing for a series championship Brad Wicks, took out victory in the second heat.

    The Victorian Champion Peter Nicola then won the third heat race ahead of the other driver competing for the overall series win, Ash Bergmeier. Bergmeier would go on to win the final heat race & on points it was to be Nicola Jnr who qualified at the front of the feature field with Bergmeier then Nicola, Wicks, Trent Wilson & Shane Belk lining up as the top six starters.

    Nicola was on a mission right from the drop of the green, it didn’t take long for him to assume the lead & stretch the lead every lap & sneak away at every race restart. Nobody was going to stop him from winning a third QA Kitchens ‘Magic on the Murray’ & he led Nicola Jnr, Bergmeier, Wilson & Lionel West across the line.

    After the race Nicola was delighted to win three times in a row. “We as a club love coming here, my team & I love coming here & the people are absolutely fantastic. The track is just awesome for our type of cars & winning three times in a row here is a memory I’ll have for later in life.”
    With support from Neil’s Parts, the Standard Saloon ‘Lachlan Howie Memorial’ event attracted Victoria’s two top ranked drivers in Scott Whittle & Mark Miles, whilst Warrick Howie was keen to win the race named in respect of his brother.

    Whittle & Howie won all six heat races between them taking three wins apiece to put them both on the front row of the field for the final with Miles & Debbie Jones on the second row & Jaimi Barber & Geoff Bowers on row three.

    Whittle took the lead right from the start & despite being chased determinedly by Howie, went on to lead from start to finish to win with Bowers in third, Miles in fourth after being penalised one place for a touch on Bowers earlier in the race then Jones in fifth.

    The Sports Sedans Slam qualified over five heat races with the Victorian Champion Ben Moon winning all three heat race events he started whilst Rahmon Rivero & Trevor Mills won the other two heats.

    Moon then began his quest to win the race back in tenth place in an inverted top ten start whilst Albury racer Simon Hill assumed the pole position as the tenth placed qualifier. Moon also was never headed on his way to victory defeating Wodonga driver Craig Cottier with Corowa local Mills in third, Martin Heiner fourth & Rivero in fifth place.

    Local Corowa Junior racer Jack Milthorpe was too good for another local racer Jack Bear, Alannah Furmston & Kiarah Rowan & Wangaratta woman Alyce Iaria was too strong for Karen McCaskill, Melanie Chrystie, Kathleen Fleming-Robertson & Fleur Heiner in the Ladies Sedans.
    The Goulburn Ovens Sedans division dominated by local Corowa based members & drivers was won by Trevor Mills ahead of Dave Walton, both from Corowa then came Nathan Shortis, Clint Henderson & Mick Quinn.

    The season for the Corowa-Rutherglen Speedway club comes to an end on June the 7th with the annual ‘Talbots 1000’ for Production sedans & a new event this season GOSA 1000 for the Goulburn Ovens Sedan competitors, Junior Sedans, Ladies Sedans, Standard Saloons, Sports Sedans & V8 Super Modifieds will entertain also from 2pm.

    Quantum Print Services
    Dunn's Twin City Cranes
    Hartnett’s Transport
    QA Kitchens
    Wahgunyah Automotive Repairs
    Neil's Parts Australia
    Falcon Spares & Repairs - Albury
    Tumut Plant Hire
    Corowa Wholesale Supplies
    Custom Dazigns
    Corowa RSL
    Albury Wodonga Fire Protection
    Vic Mesh
    Safe Pak
    Milestone Chemicals & Cleaning
    Max Maclean & Co
    Skylift Hire & Rental
    Albury Autobarn
    Murray Transport Spares
    Hooks Automotive
    CMV Truck & Bus
    The Howie Family
    Vern & Jackie Parker - DVDs
    Harvey Norman - Albury
    Bockman Batteries
    Ettamogah Pub
    Maverick Boat’s
    Talbots Transport
    Dawson’s Haulage
    Inaction Photos
    Ryan’s Refrigerated Transport
    D & P Haulage
    BB Freight
    Inaction Photos

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    for Corowa – Rutherglen Speedway Club

Share This Page