1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Victorian Title For Sdav Hot Rods To Be Decided This Sunday At Drouin

Discussion in 'Other Open Wheelers' started by SpeedwayBear, Apr 9, 2015.

This thread is being watched by 1 user.
  1. SpeedwayBear

    SpeedwayBear Platinum Member

    Mar 15, 2003
    Likes Received:
    The Victorian Speedway Council aligned SDAV Hot Rod Club head to Drouin Speedway this Sunday for their Victorian title race with defending champion Dean West a Gippsland based racer, keen to double up last season’s win with a victory at his closest race venue however recent winners in the division Kali Hovey & Shannon Meakins along with Drouin winner from earlier this season Phil Jenkins are amongst those looking to paint a different picture at the finish line.

    West is hoping to hit back after a gentle rollover at Rushworth in the last race meeting for the division where Kali Hovey won the Ray Welsh Memorial ahead of her husband Shannon Meakins. If West can start out front of the title race he is going to be super hard to beat in the feature event with Meakins & Jenkins keen to qualify better in the heats and remove that important advantage of a front row start at Drouin from West.

    Meakins last season at Alexandra could have become the # 1 driver if it wasn’t for mechanical breakdown, so this title is all about redemption for him whilst his wife has a bag full of confidence to carry with her when she enters the pit enclosure at Drouin on Sunday as the latest class winner.

    Allen Luckett is another driver who has been in very consistent form this season who is hoping to figure prominently in the title race & if he can start at the front of the feature field, most see him not being passed as he knows every legal trick in the book to make it hard for chasers to get past.

    Stan Marco a returning racer the past few weeks, rookie driver Neil Sixtus, veteran Russell Hovey, the ever improving young gun Dylan Linehan & the popular Glenn Lawless are all capable of strong results & will be looking to put into the title history record books their personal best result on Sunday.

    Nominations are:


    Dean West 1

    Stan Marco 2

    Phil Jenkins 3

    Neil Sixtus 7

    Allen Luckett 16

    Kali Hovey 22

    Russell Hovey 26

    Dylan Linehan 28

    Shannon Meakins 84

    Glenn Lawless 99

    The Victorian Speedway Council wish the members of the SDAV Hot Rod Club the best of luck for Sunday's race meeting.

    Written by

    Dean Thompson

    DMT Sports Media

    For Victorian Speedway Council

Share This Page